Memories of Horham

Local historian, Dennis Cross from Diss, shares with us his fascinating collection of old postcards, focusing on a different village in every issue.

This time, we take a walk down memory lane in Horham.

This 1908 postcard shows The Street looking along the crossroads, with the Green Dragon pub on the left. Mrs Hannah Baldry was the landlady.
Dated around 1905, this postcard shows Walnut Tree Farm and house. Mr Samuel Ling was the farmer.
A 1910 postcard showing a post mill behind some houses off the main street. Mr Frederick Roe was the miller, and also a farmer in the village.
The Street looking towards the church, dated 1915.
The village Post Office and shop, dated 1925, which was run by Mr Charles Stageman.
This 1925 postcard shows the entrance to Horham station yard. The station closed in 1953.
This was taken in 1915 from the church tower looking west. The village population was 290.

The Norfolk Postcard Club meets regularly in Trowse in Norwich and new
members are very welcome. Meetings have currently been suspended.

Dennis is also the author of several local history books that can be purchased by contacting him direct.

If any readers have any local postcards of Diss or the surrounding villages, please get in touch with Dennis after 7pm on 01379 651897.

Tagged with: