What our readers say

award

92% of our readers regularly refer to our magazines.

We have even won an award for being the magazine that people wanted to PICK UP, KEEP READING and SAVE.

We asked them what they like about Village People, and we’ve been overwhelmed by their responses.

See for yourself…

I always spot appealing events happening in the region that I don’t know about.

Catriona
Eye, June 2019

I like how it gives local information and keeps me up to date on things that are happening around the area.

Ross
Poringland, June 2019

Variety of articles and information. My mother-in-law recently moved into this area and she absolutely loves it, keeps cutting bits out to send to friends! As an old Norfolk lady, I think she likes local history best.

Carolyn
New Buckenham, June 2019

I love the different features- always a good fashion piece to look at – great simple recipes and the magazine is full of colour.

Helen
Norwich, June 2019

It has lots of small articles that you can just dip into to read. Lots of information about services and places to go.

Jenny
Lakenheath, June 2019

A great little magazine which is compact and full of useful information. I love the monthly competitions.

Debbie
Hethersett, June 2019

It’s varied and always has something of interest to read. I like learning things about the surrounding area where I live.

Charlotte
Long Stratton, June 2019

Information on local events. Adverts from local trusted traders.

Lindsey
Spooner Row, June 2019

The relevant and useful advertising and the mix of articles.

Lydia
Eaton, June 2019

A compact and informative magazine, which gives current events and helpful, tips and advice.

Handbag size too, so easy to carry around and read at leisure.

Alison
Eccles, June 2019

Interesting articles and good mix of advertising.

Murray
Eaton, June 2019

I love receiving the magazine in the post. It always has lots of interesting information. The what’s on page is good – it tells me about events I may not know are on otherwise. Great completions too.

Claire
Wymondham, June 2019

Attractive covers, interesting and varied features, colourful, advertisements you don’t see elsewhere.

Rachel
Diss, June 2019

It has all different kinds of articles to appeal to different age groups.

Claire
Hethersett, June 2019

It has an upbeat feel to it and contains something for all the family.

Lisa
Tharston, May 2019

Informative & interesting- a very well produced magazine 😊🍟

Deborah
Harleston, May 2019

Different content so covers [a] wide range of interests and also useful for gaining local contractors details.

Angela
Fressingfield, May 2019

I think it is a very interesting and informative magazine for people who live in Norwich and South Norfolk.

Rodney
Eaton, May 2019

The range and variety of different information presented along with details of local events – very informative.

Rachael
Forncett St. Peter, May 2019

It’s very interesting current & informative – congratulations.

John
Wrentham, May 2019

Very informative free magazine, a cut above the usual things that drop through the letterbox. Usually keep it from one delivery to the next, always handy to see what is happening in the area.

Linda
Wicklewood, May 2019

Promotes Community cohesion.

Lisa
Wortwell, May 2019

Packed full of adverts for local events and local traders – [the] small format is easy to hold and browse through.

Jani
Caistor St. Edmund, May 2019

Love the Ladies who Lunch page, local historian memories and notice board. Look forward to it arriving, thanks.

Freddie
Kenninghall, May 2019

The high-quality production makes it lovely to read, especially as it always contains very interesting features and, for us, useful advertising.

It is not the sort of magazine that gets put out with the old newspapers and so now I have an impressive series collection to which I often refer back to past features and adverts.

Patricia
Kenninghall, May 2019

The Magazine covers a huge market of relevant and interesting content.

Clarice
Eye, May 2019

Events and news plus information on local tradespeople with features on local village history.

I also like the high-end quality of the magazine. A real glossy treat and look forward to receiving it and settling down with a cuppa to read it.

Moira
Thorpe Abbotts, May 2019

The fact it’s in paper and I can read with a coffee.

Also just discovered [the] ability to submit events.

Laura
Palgrave, April 2019

Handy adverts for tradesmen when needed.

Offers on nearby places like restaurants.

Megan
Rushall, April 2019

History information pages, recipes and advertisements for when looking for a tradesperson.

Daphne
Bracon Ash, April 2019

It’s local. Good for trade ads.

Jeff
Gislingham, April 2019

It’s a very informative magazine, really helpful if you’re looking for local tradesmen or good days out. I enjoy all the articles, especially the Ladies who Lunch.

And best of all it’s delivered to my door and for free!

Marvellous! Keep up the good work.

Julie
Stradbroke, April 2019

Interesting articles – good quality adverts – lots of content – local events and businesses I didn’t know about – a fun and lively feel to it – brightly coloured – good quality pictures on good quality paper – a good size – nice calendar items, like the gardening jobs and in-season produce for the time of year.

Carmel
Shropham/Great Hockham, April 2019

It has interesting articles in it along with the adverts for local tradespeople and local events.

Suzan
Lakenheath, April 2019

Interesting and informative about local events and organisations. I refer to it regularly for information on what is happening locally.

A good platform to inform local people of fundraising activities and organisations.

Bridget
Caston, April 2019

Pretty, colourful, nice little book to have for local businesses when required.

Angela
East Harling, April 2019

I like the good quality reviews on theatres/plays, books & places to eat also a good variety of trades that are helpful from time to time.

Paul
Wicklewood, April 2019

It’s telling me everything about local life. I only moved to Diss 6 months ago and it’s great to have a local free magazine telling me what’s on in the area.

Carl
Diss, April 2019

All the relevant advertisements plus the various news and other items. A great variety.

Lydia
Eaton, April 2019

Mainly I like the size. It fits into a handbag and travels around with me. I can read it wherever I am and if with friends I can instantly recommend someone to help with any task.

Brenda
Great Ellingham, April 2019

It’s a “go to” source for local trades.

Susie
Hethel, April 2019

I like the quality of this magazine with its glossy feel and then, of course, it’s full of adverts covering almost everything any household could possibly need.

Nina
Carleton Rode, April 2019

I like the listing of local tradespeople and the range of topics covered and local news.

Elaine
Long Stratton, April 2019

I like the fact that I can look for a local business to do any jobs I need.

I like the “Ladies that Lunch” section also as it gives me ideas of places to go.

It is good to see events that are on, although that section seems to have decreased considerably.

Really like the magazine.

Rachael
Attleborough, April 2019

Local news and handy adverts for local businesses.

Sally
Morley St. Botolph, April 2019

The history, old photo’s etc from different villages, towns etc. Lot’s of adverts covering all aspects of things we may need in the daily running of our lives. Events going on around that could be a nice family outing.

Sarah
East Harling, April 2019

Local interest stories from the area we live in.

Stuart
Ringland, April 2019

It’s local and full of good tips.

Sara
Botesdale, April 2019

It has lots of useful adverts as well as interesting articles. I especially like the On Your Plot, the recipes and What’s in season.

Eileen
Kirby Cane, April 2019

Very informative and covers so many different areas for all generations.

Alison
Kenninghall, April 2019

It’s a very informative and interesting magazine with adverts relevant to our villages. It highlights local activities and includes ideas for days out and visiting places I may not otherwise have heard of or thought to visit!

Gill
Redgrave, April 2019

The quality of print. Competitions. Local news and reviews.

Laura
Palgrave, April 2019

Everything in the magazine is local and relevant. I also like the recipes and gardening tips. Thank you, I enjoy receiving the magazine very much.

Lesley
Wilby, April 2019

Finding out about what is going on in our area.

James
Flordon, April 2019

Local events.

Iain
Wymondham, April 2019

Finding local info.

Don
Eaton Rise, April 2019

It’s wide variety of topics and useful adverts for local people.

Jacqueline
Soham, April 2019

Interesting information and adverts relative to the local area.

J Trevethick
Cringleford, April 2019

The fact that it’s free, open to all, and enables people to know so much more about what’s going on, especially the small fund raising events like ours.

Caroline
Griston, April 2019

I like to read about local events.

Sarah
Mendlesham, April 2019

Very informative easy to read local magazine full of tips and advice.

Brenda
Scole, April 2019

All the interesting adverts in the magazine.

Sarah
Ellingham, April 2019

It’s got a wide variety of articles and I like reading about where the ladies lunch.

Liz
Eccles, April 2019

I particularly like the Village Notice Board so I can see what events are happening.

T Buck
Eaton, April 2019

It is Free! And has useful info on local events! also it is printed on good quality paper and is a nice size to store and read!

David
Bungay, April 2019

Local interest.

P Yallop
Trowse, April 2019

Vibrant, interesting and current magazine with useful what’s on information in the area.

Lisa
Shelfanger, April 2019

Small so easily picked up and doesn’t take up space on the bedside table!

Margaret
Cringleford, April 2019

It is very good at telling us what is on and also advertising different trades people. We did find a few people through your ads who came and did work for us and we were pleased with the work they did.

Alexandra
Eaton Rise, April 2019

The magazine is pocket size and contains lots of articles relent to me and my local area.

Justin
Hapton, April 2019

I enjoy it’s content and presentation. [It’s] a very informative and attractive publication – about the only one I read.

Janine
Aslacton, April 2019

Lots of local news.

Lesley
Caston, April 2019

I particularly like finding out about different things that are taking place in the surrounding area. I have learnt about The Health Walks through the magazine. This month your adverts have been helpful as we are currently looking for care at home for a relative.

Vicky
Wymondham, April 2019

[The] local info.

Nikki
Hopton, April 2019

Helpful information.

Georgia
Diss, April 2019

News about what’s going on – and been on. Ads for local trades people.

Mike
Diss, April 2019

It is full of a wide range of information. I look at every page to make sure I don’t miss any nuggets.

Judy
Scole, April 2019

Ladies who Lunch & the village notice board; there are many other items I enjoy too.

Great Magazine! I look toward to it arriving on my doormat every month.

Elaine
Wacton, April 2019

Really newsy.

S Thorpe
Harleston, April 2019

Easy to read and very informative.

Chris
Saxlingham Nethergate, March 2019

Enjoyable!

Katharine
Bungay, March 2019

It keeps me up to date with all the local goings on.

Julie
Brooke, March 2019

Packed with lots of local information.

Angela
Diss, March 2019

The competitions and the what’s on guide.

Nicola
Long Stratton, March 2019

It’s small and compact with lots of useful, interesting information.

Tara
Hethersett, February 2019

The variety and colour, and the whole ethos!

Andrea
Bury St. Edmunds (c/o my parents!), February 2019

I think its very informative.

Jill
Lakenheath, but have seen the magazine in Thetford Garden Centre, February 2019

It’s wide availability.

Maurice
Fressingfield, February 2019

Good newsy local magazine which allows us to advertise our events.

Tim
Pulham St. Mary, February 2019

I really like the very interesting articles you print on local subjects.

Janet
Diss, February 2019

Competitions, local events and recipes.

Ella
Harleston, February 2019

All local information. Gardening tips and recipes and just local things!

Ruth
Pulham St. Mary, February 2019

The wide range of articles and items of interest.

Carl
Diss, February 2019

Lots of local stories – a very enjoyable read.

Adam
Attleborough, February 2019

Very informative, good stories and nice to get a lot of local tradesmen advertising which is very helpful, and I think Lily and the team do a great job.

Alan
Tacolneston, February 2019

I like the variety of local interest.

Jenny
Harleston, February 2019

It has a good mixed content and the bright covers always grab my attention. Love the competitions!

Debbie
Hethersett, February 2019

I really enjoy the variety of topics and information in each edition. Often use it to look for tradesmen as well.

Debra
Deopham, February 2019

The personal touch, the gardeners tips, the recipes and reviews e.g. Ladies who Lunch, the events and what’s on – these are very important and useful.

Emma
Tibenham, February 2019

[It] covers a wide range of topics, well done thank you.

Katherine
Hemsby, February 2019

Often we are away from home visiting family and friends elsewhere.
But [we] always read Village People cover to cover upon return, often with great disappointment of events missed, but so very grateful to live in a vibrant community with so much to offer!!!

Elizabeth
East Harling, February 2019

Nicely put together magazine, informative.

Josie
Thorndon, February 2019

I like the fact that it has lots of dates for events that are going to be happening. Already put Rock Norwich in my diary and a hobby craft day at the NEC.
So much to read in a little book. This copy is my father in laws.

Vicky
Wymondham, February 2019

It always has great information on local businesses. I also like the size, not too big.

Paul
Cringleford, February 2019

I like when you photograph the clothes and accessories and put together on a page. I also like the fact that the magazine is all about supporting local companies.

Sian
Cringleford, February 2019

Competitions, gardening and cooking ideas, Ladies Who Lunch giving ideas for our next outing and other articles that teach me more about the area and what it has to offer.

Faye
Stuston, February 2019

Lots of helpful local information.

Jackie
Brockdish, February 2019

[I love} the variety of information across Norfolk.

Amanda
Wortwell, February 2019

General information about local events, activities and services.

Clive
Carleton Rode, February 2019

Lots of interesting local features and info on local events.

Shirley
Hinderclay, February 2019

Interesting articles about events and groups available locally.

Alison
Spooner Row, February 2019

I love it; full of interesting pieces to read, full of helpful information so, thank you.

Christine
Scole, February 2019

I love it; full of interesting pieces to read, full of helpful information so, thank you.

Christine
Scole, February 2019

I get to find out what’s happening in my village, and I enjoy trying the recipes out; there’s just a bit of everything to sit and look through whilst enjoying a coffee break.

Donna
Hethersett, February 2019

It has a good variety of subjects. Nice and colourful.

Janice
Eaton, February 2019

Lots of interesting features about what is happening close to me.

Sue
Great Ellingham, February 2019

I like it because it has a good mixture of articles, there is something interesting for everyone.

Tracey
Little Melton, February 2019

The variety, the competitions, interesting local items.

Caroline
Ditchingham, February 2019

Full of interesting stuff about what is going on in my area.

Lesleyjane
Kirby Cane, February 2019

It has good information regarding the local area and I like the articles written by local people about something that interests them, be it work related or a past time.

Clare
Attleborough, February 2019

Love to read the history of local villages and towns with the photos. I always read the gardening tips, have learnt a lot. Great to keep up with what is going on in the area.

Look forward to reading it .

Jackie
Hethersett, February 2019

Interesting, not too much advertising, keeps trying to find something new and doesn’t rely on the local papers for all their pieces.

Louise
Forncett St. Peter, February 2019

All the info on what’s going on around the area, the Tradesmen and the Theatre info: I got tickets for Mike and the Mechanics because I saw it in the magazine.

Susan
Pulham Market, February 2019

The variety of information, recipes, easy to find the services locally.
Good mix of advertisments and topical information.
Useful size to keep for reference.

Dianne
Bungay, February 2019

Lots to read. Local advertising.

Elaine
Ashwellthorpe, February 2019

[I love the] history photos, Ladies who lunch, What’s on & Local business.

Sue
Fressingfield, February 2019

[It’s a] very informative magazine that is of interest to all ages and diversity.

Eileen
Mulbarton, February 2019

Local stories and easy to read, gets better each month.
I also like the local directory on the back pages and have used it to find a dog sitter before.

Sara
Hethersett, February 2019

Very good, lots of information and love the competions.

Patricia
Wacton, February 2019

[I love the] local stories and adverts for individual small local businesses.

Kirsty
Trowse, February 2019

I love the Village people magazine… the upbeat feel of the magazine, stories and love the colours that you use on the front cover, always inviting.
Great way to see all the local companies advertising too.

Catherine
Rickinghall, February 2019

There is plenty to read in magazine.

Kathleen
Bawburgh, February 2019

Variety of topics included, helpful advice and reviews regarding local services and events.

J Wilkinson
Eaton, February 2019

The way it keeps people in touch with everything local, entertainment, food, helpful people/numbers etc.

Gary
Long Stratton, February 2019

I like the variety of subjects and the fact I get my own area edition and it is delivered through my door, all for free.

Jenny
Harleston, February 2019

Lots of lovely articles.

Vanessa
Attleborough, February 2019

Keeps me informed of all what’s happening in my area! A good read!
Plus has useful numbers in adverts.

Lorraine
Stoke Holy Cross, February 2019

Very interesting & informative – keep up the good work

John
Southwold, January 2019

It tells me more about the surrounding villages and what is going on.
It also includes interesting points about lifestyle (such as tips & ideas etc.).

Stephen
Long Stratton, December 2018

I love the variety of articles and always useful information.

Brenda
Attleborough, December 2018

It keeps us informed about local businesses.

David
Ilketshall St. Margaret, December 2018

It’s very informative about local things etc.

Sharon
Wacton, Long Stratton, December 2018

It’s very informative & interesting.

John
Wrentham, December 2018

I like the variety of stories. Also the adverts come in very handy too.
Nice sized magazine packed with decorative information.

Deborah
Carleton Rode, December 2018

I like everything. It feels like a glossy mag but has all the things you need for the local person.

Sue
Rickinghall, December 2018

Bright and interesting to read. Helpful information on local products.

Margaret
Bungay, December 2018

The articles about places to eat and village life/heritage.

Kath
Tivetshall St. Margaret, December 2018

Local, good features and very informative.

Linda
Gislingham, December 2018

Gives information on many local events for people like me. It is a very useful local guide.

Stella
Hopton, December 2018

Lots of interesting articles.

R Barret
Withersdale, December 2018

Local advertising for small business!

Vanessa
Marlingford, December 2018

Great variety and so much local information! It’s inspirational and fun!

Jan
Eaton, December 2018

The local stories, local life, nature and life and recipes, offers & the fun Competitions!

Adam
Attleborough, December 2018

I love the local articles, news and advertisers.

Leanne
Shotley Gate, December 2018

Smashing A5 magazine – top quality and lots of really good information which means it has a high retention value. Also look at the coverage!!! Brilliant and relatively untapped.

Jan
Suffolk, December 2018

Both my wife and I enjoy reading Village People as it is very informative as to what is going on in our region and has lots of different articles to suit all tastes together with some interesting offers, competitions and adverts.

Sid
Hingham, November 2018

I congratulate you on an informative and useful local magazine, thank you once again.

Carolyn
Eye, July 2018

Cedrick Jackson called from Tasburgh to say his new magazine had just been delivered. It’s wonderful and both he and his wife really enjoy reading it. Full of interesting content and useful contact details for local businesses, he described it as ‘spot on’.

Cedrick
Tasburgh, February 2017

I enjoy crosswords and was pleased to see it but didn’t complete, which is why I was eager for the answers. Please continue with the crosswords if you can, regular would be good! And we thoroughly love getting Village People. Informative about our own area and interesting articles. Congratulations on the recognition of your success.

Sue
Tivetshall, September 2016

Just wanted to let you know how much your Village People publication is enjoyed in our household.

Elizabeth
South Norfolk, September 2016

I much appreciate receiving “Village People”. My wife and I live in Mulbarton and love it. We have been here for two years now having moved from Stratford on Avon and we certainly made the right decision.

George
Mulbarton, September 2016

Village People is a very informative magazine with local information available for all sorts of local businesses. It includes deals for local pubs and restaurants and we have often been surprised at the amount of lovely pubs which are very local to us, but which we wouldn’t have known about without such magazine resources. Friendly publishers also who go out of their way to help.

Rebecca
South Norfolk, September 2016

Yes, we really like your little magazine ‘The Village People’ and generally read it pretty thoroughly. It even helped to put us in touch with an old friend we hadn’t been in contact with for over twenty years! We saw his ad in there.

Mary
South Norfolk

Just wanted to say how I enjoyed reading this edition of the village people which I picked up at a garden centre. The work that goes into it is very worthwhile and makes it an extremely informative read and must also provide a significant boost to the local economy with the local businesses featured. I am sure the FSB and trade orgs must be impressed too. Fascinating to read about some local and sometimes unusual businesses which otherwise would struggle to reach so many readers. Very encouraging also that a printed publication which is targeted with interesting editorial features can both exist and also thrive in this climate where more and more is shifting to online media. No mean feat and testament to your hard work and quality magazine. Keep up the great work and I look forward to reading the next one when it is published.

Adam
Attleborough

Love the magazine that you put together.

Sarah
South Norfolk

Love the magazine, really look forward to it especially the Village Wanderings.

Chris
South Norfolk

I really enjoy your magazine, it is passed on to me via my sister who lives in Kenninghall – it is very good to know what is going on in the area.


Alex

Outside of our delivery area, September 2016

I enjoyed reading your magazine that my neighbour gave me, is it possible to arrange for one to be sent to me, please?.

Cathy
Attleborough, September 2016
You can pick up a free copy from our stand in Sainsbury’s, Attleborough!

I don’t know anyone who doesn’t read every issue thoroughly.

Leanne
Winfathing, Diss, September 2016

Great magazine! We use it all the time…

Jennifer
Bressingham, Diss, August 2016

I must say, we love your magazine and I look forward to it dropping through the letterbox each month. In particular, we love the walks, gardening and recipe pages and will now keep an eye on your website from now on. Your team do a great job.

Jenny
Cringleford, August 2016

Your latest edition arrived yesterday. As usual, it is full of excellent stuff! Keep up the good work.

Jill
Burgate, August 2016

We value Village People mag and think it helps nurture local communities; good stuff.

Peter
Hethel

There are many things that I like about Village People but the Village Wanderings walk is the page I first turn to.

John
South Norfolk, July 2016

I have much appreciated it when you have included our notice in past years as it makes such a difference – so I am keeping my fingers crossed that you can include our notice in your magazine again this time.
Wendy
South Norfolk, July 2016

I’m just dropping you a line to say the ‘Village Wanderings’ page is a lovely feature of your magazine. My wife and I enjoy the walks very much.

Alan
Harleston, June 2016

I was just about to send you an email to thank you for the very nice Notice Board entry for our Model Railway Show – so, many thanks for this, much appreciated. Then I just took a ‘phone call from a Diss number, and the caller’s first words apart from ‘Hello’ were “I’ve just seen the advert for your Model Railway Show in Village People”…..What can I say?!

Bob
Rickinghall, May 2016

Flattery notwithstanding, the Early Spring issue seems even better than your usual – an exceptional range of topics covered, and a really nice balance. No wonder it’s so popular!

Mr. Clark
South Norfolk, May 2016

Thanks for putting the Pulham Orchestra charity event in Village People mag – it is excellent!

Your help is much appreciated and we have had a good take-up already on only day 2 of your 5-day delivery.

I will use this facility again.

Linda Roy, Publicity Officer and 1st Flute
The Pulham Orchestra

Compulsive reading…

Mr. Hill
Brockdish

Being a new resident to south Norfolk I really enjoy having Village Magazine delivered to my door and how it directs me to various local services.

It’s bright, cheerful and full of interesting articles too. Essential reading and it’s all delivered free of charge!

Martin

Just received the new issue of Village People. You do a wonderful job and your mag is not just beautifully done but stands out significantly from similar publications I have seen.

A village in NR16

Village People looks really good and it is nice to get something free through your door that is useful.

Mrs. Jolley

A very BIG thank you for including details of Tibenham’s book sale in Village People.

It has certainly been very effective and the books are piling up!

Mrs. Evans
Tibenham

Many thanks for a great little magazine!

Ms. Perfitt
Great Moulton

I have just sat down in front of the fire and read Village People and it’s excellent as usual.

Mrs. H
Bustards Green

Thanks for the copies of Village People, it’s a great magazine. We want one where we are!

A village in NR14

It’s a magazine that stays in our house much longer than any other.

Village People is often kept for future reference rather than being consigned immediately to the recycle bin.

People we speak to keep the magazine and use it as a directory.

Congratulations on an excellent magazine. It is so informative and interesting. We have already used 2 of the advertisers with very satisfactory results and are about to contact a third.

As the director of a play going into production at a new location, I was very pleased to be told that ‘Village People’ may be able to print a free article about the production. Wymondham Players have been performing at the Central Hall for decades and moving to a new venue was an anxious time for us.

In Wymondham, we distributed our yellow boards with the new venue indicated, but on the whole, they were restricted to Wymondham. So to have the opportunity to inform the catchment area beyond Wymondham, i.e. the ‘Villages’ and all 14,000 of these rural households, was a huge bonus for us.

Apart from the actual task of writing the piece for the magazine, the whole exercise could not have been simpler. Ample guidance was given when requested by Lily and the piece and a photograph were simply sent by email.
We have had many positive comments already from people who have seen the article in Village People magazine which we all agreed was very well presented.

Tabi
Director, Wymondham Players

Read statistics from our latest reader survey.

We’d also love to hear what you think.